By Sunlight



Seattle rock band By Sunlight plays moody, dynamic music made of equal parts shimmer and punch. With chiming guitars, melodic vocals, layered textures, and unconventional rhythms, the band creates music that sounds only like itself.

Originally based in Sacramento–and known at the time under the name “Bridges”–the group released its debut album, The Underscore, in 2005. Two years later, after numerous tours and a few lineup shifts, Mike Sparks (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Robert Cheek (guitar, keyboard) and John O’Connell (drums) moved the band to Seattle. There they met Jack Clemens (bass guitar, synthesizer) and continued to tour and develop new material. At this time, in the spirit of creative rebirth, the band also changed its name to By Sunlight.

In 2008, By Sunlight released a self-titled album featuring forty minutes of continuous music. The album was intentionally recorded with no between-song pauses; that is, each track flows into the next without interruption. This “no breaks” approach quickly became a hallmark of the band’s live performances, as well, which they polished over two more years of frequent touring. 2010 saw the release of two new songs, “Sung Surrender” and “No More Miracles,” providing a look at the band’s further development as songwriters.

In the spring of 2012, after adding fifth member Evan Ferro (vocals, guitar, keyboard), By Sunlight returned to the studio to record a new full-length album. Working with producer/engineer Scott Solter (St. Vincent, Spoon, Mountain Goats, John Vanderslice, Pattern is Movement, Division Day), the band completed work on ten new tracks for the album, now titled Penumbra. They hope to release it in early 2013.

After nearly eight years of writing and performing songs together, the members of By Sunlight continue to hone their craft with one goal: to create original art that’s inspiring and challenging for both the band and their audience. They plan to carry on touring so they can bring their taut, intense performances to as many music lovers as possible.



By Sunlight is: Robert Cheek, Jack Clemens, Evan Ferro, John O’Connell, and Mike Sparks